Northeast Recycling Information by State

The Northeast Region includes Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.


11 northeastern states have joined to form the Northeast Recycling Council (NERC). Their mission is to promote sustainable materials management by supporting traditional and innovative solid waste best practices, focusing on waste prevention, toxics reduction, reuse, recycling and organics recovery.

NERC Website

NERC state recycling resources

Contact NERC


  Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection


  Connecticut Recyclers Coalition



  Delaware Solid Wast Authority



  Maine Department of Environmental Protection


  Maine Resource Recovery Association



Maryland Department of the Environment


 Maryland Recycling Network



  Massachusetts Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs




New Hampshire

 New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services


  Northeast Resource Recovery Association


  New Hampshire the Beautiful


New Jersey

  New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection


  The New Jersey WasteWise Business Network


  Association of New Jersey Recyclers


New York

  New York State Department of Environmental Conservation


  New York State Association for Reduction, Reuse and Recycling (NYSAR)



  Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection


  Pennsylvania Recycling Markets Center


  Professional Recyclers of Pennsylvania


Rhode Island

  Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management


  Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation



  Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation

                                             Vermont Universal Recycling Symbols